HeaderImage 261113o

News & Events

Russell Kennedy Lawyers announces new Board of Directors

Russell Kennedy Lawyers announced its new Board of Directors, consistent with the firm’s continued focus on its strategic goals and leadership succession.

Read the full article covered by Lawyers Weekly here.

Effective from 1 July 2017 the members of the board are:

Russel Kennedy Portrait 1

(Pictured from left to right: Andrew Sherman, Rosemary Southgate, Paul Gleeson and Rohan Harris)

Paul Gleeson, Managing Director, believes the new appointments reflect Russell Kennedy’s focus on developing strong leadership from within the firm and attracting and retaining the right senior talent who are prepared to take the reins.

“Our firm’s strength has always been the recognition of the importance of strategic direction in the work we do. Our new board will continue to build on the achievements of the outgoing board and will work with all of our principals and staff to deliver the new strategic objectives set for the next 3 years. This demonstrates our recognition of the benefits of orderly and progressive leadership renewal at Russell Kennedy.”

John Corcoran AM, Principal, is stepping down as Chair after 10 years in the position. John will continue working in his role as Principal in the Property and Development team and in the area of Retirement Living and Aged Care, to which he remains strongly committed. John will remain in his positions as the Chair of the Legal Practitioner's Liability Committee and a Board Member of Mercy Health.

Michael W Gorton AM, Principal and outgoing Deputy Chair, will continue to be a Principal in the Corporate & Commercial team with a focus on his Not-for-profit & Health practice groups. This is in addition to his external positions as Chair of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) and Board Member of Melbourne Health & Ambulance Victoria, among other positions. 

Andrew Sherman, the new Chair at Russell Kennedy, has been with the firm for over 23 years. He is a Principal in the firm’s Government Planning and Environment team, and is a Law Institute of Victoria Environment, Planning and Local Government Law Accredited Specialist, with particular skills in Water Law.

His appointment to Chair of Russell Kennedy recognises the high regard with which he is held in the firm and with his clients. Andrew said: “it is a pleasure and a privilege to take on the role of Chair when our firm is so well placed in the market due to the work of the outgoing board and our people.”

“Russell Kennedy remains a firm with that intangible quality of a good culture.  Our challenges are to continue to grow the firm, to provide quality legal service and to be an employer of choice.”

Rosemary Southgate, the new Deputy Chair, joined the board on 1 July 2015, and is the current head of Russell Kennedy’s Property & Development practice and a Law Institute of Victoria Property Law Accredited Specialist.

Rosemary is a strong advocate for empowering women and is the founding Convenor of the Russell Kennedy Women’s Network. The network was created to connect women and promote their development as leaders in the profession, in business and in the community.

Rohan Harris, Principal and new Board Member, is the head of Russell Kennedy’s Corporate and Commercial team and also holds the role of Innovation Principal at the firm. Rohan is motivated to deliver innovative client services, to achieve the best outcomes for clients, and this will be an integral part of his focus as a member of the board.

Russell Kennedy continues to expand in a commercial environment which has delivered significant challenges and opportunities for law firms.

The firm is focussed on growing capacity and capability in core industries enhancing and facilitating opportunities for their clients, now and into the future.

Our Contacts |