HeaderImage 261113o

News & Events

Michael Gorton to Chair AHPRA

Russell Kennedy Principal, Michael Gorton AM, has been appointed as Chair of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).

Michael has been a member of the AHPRA Board since its inception, but now takes up the top job as Chair.

The Ministerial Council of Health Ministers expressed thanks for the highly valued contributions Michael had made since his original term of appointment, and wished AHPRA well in strengthening and guiding its work in delivering the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme of health professionals across Australia.

Ministers also appointed new Board members to AHPRA, Barbara Yeoh, David Taylor and Jenny Taing. 

AHPRA regulates over 600,000 health professionals across Australia in medicine, nursing, dentistry and eleven other health professions.  AHPRA registers all health professionals, and deals with all notifications and complaints in relation to them.

Michael’s new appointment adds to his impressive list of credentials and achievements as a highly respected Lawyer in his field. Michael was recognised by Best Lawyers in 2013 as Melbourne Health and Aged Care Law “Lawyer of the Year”, and continues to be recognised by Best Lawyers for expertise in both Health and Aged Care Law, and Corporate/Governance Practice in 2014. He also sits on the Melbourne Health (Royal Melbourne Hospital) Board, is President of the International Alliance of Law Firms, and Chair of the Patient Review Panel at Department of Health Victoria.

Russell Kennedy’s Health Law team provides services across hospitals, medical colleges, government departments and the health sector generally. Find out more here.

Our Contacts